AFI disaffiliates 16 districts for failing to send to Inter-District Junior Athletics Meet


The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) has recently taken a bold and unprecedented step in the history of Indian athletics. In a move that has sent ripples across the sporting fraternity, the AFI has derecognised 16 district associations for their failure to send teams to the National Inter-District Junior Athletics Meet held in Ahmedabad in February, as reported by Sportstar.

The list of disaffiliated district associations is diverse, spanning across the length and breadth of the country. It includes one district each from Haryana, Jharkhand, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, and Lakshadweep, three each from Jammu and Kashmir and Meghalaya, and two each from Madhya Pradesh and Punjab. This decision was not taken lightly and came after repeated warnings from the AFI over the last two years.

AFI’s decision to derecognize districts

Talking about the move, which was a first-of-its-kind decision by the federation, AFI president Adille Sumariwalla said, “We have given enough warning for the last two years.”

The derecognised districts will not be left in limbo. New associations will be formed in their place. This process will be carried out in consultation with the AFI, ensuring that the new associations align with the federation’s goals and standards.

“The suspended districts will be removed and fresh associations will be formed,” said Sumariwalla, adding “This is as per the AFI constitution.”

Despite the disaffiliation of Haryana’s Panchkula district, the National Inter-State Championships will still be held in the district city. This decision demonstrates the AFI’s commitment to conducting the championships as planned, regardless of the disaffiliation.

List of disaffilied districts: Haryana’s Panchkula, Jammu and Kashmir’s Budgam, Ramban and Shopian, Jharkhand’s Lohardaga, Lakshadweep’s Kalpeni, Meghalaya’s East Jaintia Hills, East Khasi Hills and Ri-Bhoi, Madhya Pradesh’s Harda and Neemuch, Punjab’s Firozpur and Fazilka, Rajasthan’s Jhalawar, Tamil Nadu’s Krishnagiri, and West Bengal’s Purba Medinipur.

Also Read: Rohit Dahiya missed the Bronze medal at the Asian Wrestling Championships