29 Indian International Players to participate in Hockey India’s Senior Women’s National Championship

Senior Women's National Championship

The upcoming 14th Hockey India Senior Women’s National Championship, set to commence on March 13 at the Major Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium Pimpri in Pune, Maharashtra, is creating a buzz in the Indian sports fraternity. The championship holds significant importance as it serves as a platform for selecting the next core probables for the Indian women’s team.

All you need to know about Senior Women’s National Championship

In a remarkable development, 29 Indian international players will be participating in the tournament, representing their respective states. This participation of international players is expected to elevate the level of competition, providing an excellent opportunity for emerging talents to showcase their skills against some of the best players in the country.

Among the participating players are key figures such as India’s skipper Savita, the most capped player Vandana Katariya, seasoned professional Monika, experienced players like Navneet Kaur, and Salima Tete, and emerging talents like Deepika and Sangita Kumari. These players will be competing from their respective states, adding a layer of intrigue and excitement to the tournament.

The championship will see a total of 27 teams, divided into eight pools, vying for top honours. The teams have been grouped based on their past performances and current form, ensuring a balanced and competitive tournament.

Defending champion Madhya Pradesh has been slotted in Pool A along with Bihar and Chhattisgarh. Last year’s runner-up and host of this year’s edition Maharashtra finds itself in Pool B with Delhi and Kerala. Other notable teams include Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, and Andhra Pradesh in Pool C, and Haryana, Le Puducherry, and Assam in Pool D.

The top team from each pool will advance to the quarterfinals, slated for March 20, with the semifinals set to occur on March 22. The third and fourth place play-off is scheduled for March 23, followed by the final later that evening.

This championship is not just a tournament; it’s a celebration of women’s hockey in India and provides an opportunity for young and emerging players to rub shoulders with seasoned internationals and learn from their experience. It’s a chance for the selectors to spot new talents and for the players to make a mark on the national stage.

Also Read: Virat Kohli Set to be Dropped from T20 WC? Who could be the possible replacement?