IPL 2019 schedule for the first two weeks announced; CSK and RCB to lock horns in opening game


After much speculation, the twelfth edition of Indian Premier League is all set to take place in India and the cash-rich league will commence on March 23, much earlier than usual.

Although, the date for the final hasn’t be decided just yet and the tournament will clash with general elections in India. It was earlier expected that the league might take place outside of India to avoid a clash with the general election.

However, BCCI has released two-weeks schedule for the IPL 2019. Defending champion Chennai Super Kings will take on Royal Challenger’s Bangalore on 23rd March in Chennai.

IPL released the schedule of the first two weeks (17 matches) of the 2019 Season. These are still subject to the announcement of the Lok Sabha 2019 election dates. Once these have been released BCCI will address any issues with the first two weeks and will also prepare a schedule for the remainder of the season working with the local authorities around the polling dates,” an IPL media release read on Tuesday.

Here’s the schedule of the tournament for the first two weeks, as updated by the league:

23 March: CSK vs RCB at Chennai.

24 March (afternoon): KKR vs SRH at Kolkata.

24 March (evening): MI vs DC at Mumbai.

25 March: RR vs KXIP at Jaipur.

26 March: DC vs CSK at Delhi.

27 March: KKR vs KXIP at Kolkata.

28 March: RCB vs MI at Bengaluru.

29 March: SRH vs RR at Hyderabad.

30 March (afternoon): KXIP vs MI at Mohali.

30 March (evening): DC vs KKR at Delhi.

31 March (afternoon): SRH vs RCB at Hyderabad.

31 March (evening): CSK vs RR at Chennai.

1 April: KXIP vs DC at Mohali.

2 April: RR vs RCB at Jaipur.

3 April: MI vs CSK at Mumbai.

4 April: DC vs SRH at Delhi.

5 April: RCB vs KKR at Bengaluru.


Jasprit Bumrah credits Rohit Sharma’s input in making him a better bowler