16-member Indian field hockey squad for Tokyo Olympics announced


Hockey India, the governing body of the sport in the country has just announced the official sixteen member lineup for the team that will be heading to Tokyo for the upcoming Olympic Games.

The squad, which was revealed on Friday, will feature ten of its players whom will make their debut in the grand quadriennal event donning the Men in Blue shirts.

Joining former Olympic veterans like goalkeeper Sreejesh; midfielder Manpreet; defenders Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, and Surender Kumar; and forward Mandeep Singh, the ten debutants are- Amit Rohidas, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta Sharma, Sumit, Shamsher Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Gurjant Singh, and Lalit Kumar Upadhyay. The squad will see Manpreet remaining at its help as the captain.

Ten Olympic debutants in Indian men's hockey squad for Tokyo Games | Sports News,The Indian Express

Sreejesh is the only goalie featured in the squad after Krishan Bahadur Pathak was dropped out of the squad in the final moments. On the other hand, seasoned defender Birendra Lakra, who missed the 2016 Olympic Games after sustaining a knee injury, will be featured in the Tokyo-bound squad.

“It has not been an easy process to make the final selection of 16 players as there is a lot of quality and ambition in this group of players,” Graham Reid, the coach of the team was quoted in an official statement from Hockey India, “the performance levels of all the athletes are at an optimum level and more importantly, they work well together.”

“They know what it means to represent the country at the Olympics. We are now focussed on training with the same intensity and our goal is to put forward our best performance as a collective unit in Tokyo,” Reid added.

Check out the full Indian men’s hockey squad bound for Tokyo Olympics below:

Goalkeepers: P. R. Sreejesh

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Birendra Lakra

Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta Sharma, Sumit

Forwards: Shamsher Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

To bet on sports, click here