13 Indian Para-Shuttlers Qualify for 2024 Paris Paralympics


The Paralympics, a global platform for athletes with disabilities, has seen a surge in participation from India. The 2024 Paris Paralympics will witness a strong Indian contingent, with 13 para-shuttlers qualifying for the event.

Indian Contingent for Paris Paralympics

The Badminton World Federation (BWF) confirmed that these athletes, including reigning champion Krishna Nagar, would participate in nine different events. Nagar, who clinched gold in the men’s singles SH6 category at the 2021 Tokyo Paralympics, aims to defend his title.

Other notable athletes include Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj and Manoj Sarkar, who won silver and bronze respectively in Tokyo. They will strive for further success in the men’s singles SL4 and SL3 categories.

The Indian para-shuttlers who have qualified for the Paris Paralympics are:

  • Men’s singles SH6: Krishna Nagar; Sivarajan Solaimalai
  • Men’s singles SL3: Kumar Nitesh; Manoj Sarkar
  • Women’s singles SL3: Manasi Girishchandra Joshi; Mandeep Kaur
  • Men’s singles SL4: Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj; Sukant Kadam; Tarun
  • Women’s singles SL4: Palak Kohli
  • Women’s singles SU5: Thulasimathi Murugesan; Manisha Ramadass
  • Women’s singles SH6: Nithya Sre Sumathy Sivan
  • Mixed Doubles SL3-SU5: Kumar Nitesh and Thulasimathi Murugesan; Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj and Palak Kohli
  • Mixed Doubles SH6: Sivarajan Solaimalai and Nithya Sre Sumathy Sivan.

The Paris Paralympics will introduce three new events: Women’s Singles Standing Lower 3 (WS SL3), Women’s Singles Short Stature 6 (WS SH6), and Mixed Doubles Short Stature 6 (XD SH6). This provides an opportunity for more athletes to showcase their skills and compete at the highest level.

Also Read: “We have enough skills to deal with it,” India’s Batting Coach Vikram Rathour on New York pitch